0

Safety

Whether you’re a seasoned cyclist or a novice, here are a few tips to make sure you have a safe and enjoyable ride on Swiss roads.

Before riding

Check the bike before heading out
Despite our constant efforts, our bikes and e-bikes can sometimes be damaged due to their frequent use. So, before you jump on, we recommend you check the condition of the bike (brakes, tyres, etc.) and adjust the saddle (heel on the pedal, knee straight). If you detect a problem, please lock the bike up again and use the app to report the damage.

The right bike
The maximum weight for PubliBike bikes and e-bikes is 140 kg. Please also note the saddle must never be pulled out from the seat post further than the minimum insertion mark.

Helmets
In Switzerland, it’s compulsory to wear a helmet on bikes and e-bikes with a speed of more than 25 km/h (the max. speed of the PubliBike e-bike is 25km/h). However, we do recommend you wear your own helmet for your complete safety.

Charge your Smartphone
Before you set off, check your smartphone is charged. To avoid any problems, register your SwissPass as a secondary access medium in your customer account. A bike reserved for an intermediate stop with a smartphone can still be re-accessed with your SwissPass if your phone is out of charge.

Rules

Respect the signs
Red lights, signs, priorities: the rules of the road must be respected by all users. Bikes can slowly pass a stationary line of vehicles on the right. Caution: you must always stop behind vehicles that are turning right however.

Basic rules

Sources and more information

Safety - Pro Velo
Cyclistes - TCS

If there’s anything you’re not certain of, sign up for a Pro Velo course: www.pro-velo.ch

Plan your route
We recommend you take the easiest, safest route to your destination. Check for cycle paths, identify narrow roads or heavy traffic.

To help plan your route, check out "Cycling in Switzerland" at www.veloland.ch and/or Cycling Maps, Association Transports et Environnement [Transport and Environment Association], at www.ate.ch

Skyline

Sécurité

Pour les cyclistes avertis comme pour les amateurs, voici quelques conseils pour rouler à l’aise et en sécurité sur les routes suisses.

Avant le départ

Vérifier le vélo
Malgré nos efforts constants, la fréquence d’utilisation de nos vélos et e-bikes ne les met pas à l’abri d’un dommage. Avant de monter en selle, il est donc conseillé de vérifier l’état du vélo : freins, pneus gonflés, selle ajustée (talon appuyé sur la pédale, genou tendu). Si un problème est détecté, merci de refermer le cadenas et de signaler le dommage via l’app.

Un vélo adapté
La charge maximale d’utilisation des vélos et e-bikes PubliBike est de 140 kg. Nous recommandons une grandeur minimale de 150 cm. Cette grandeur permet à la pointe de pieds de toucher le sol afin de conduire le vélo en toute sécurité. De plus, la selle ne doit jamais être tirée de la tige au-delà de la marque d'insertion minimale.

Port du casque
En Suisse, le port du casque n’est pas obligatoire pour les vélos et vélos à assistance électrique de moins de 25 km/h (la vitesse max. de l’e-bike PubliBike est de 25km/h). Nous vous conseillons toutefois de mettre votre propre casque pour des déplacements en toute sécurité.

Smartphone chargé
Avant le départ, vérifiez que votre smartphone est chargé. Afin d’éviter tout inconvénient d’utilisation, inscrivez votre SwissPass comme deuxième moyen d’accès dans le compte client. Un vélo réservé pour un arrêt intermédiaire avec smartphone pourra toujours être ré-ouvert avec votre SwissPass en cas de batterie à plat.

Les règles

Respecter la signalisation
Feux rouge, panneaux, priorités : sur la route, un code est à appliquer pour tous les types d’utilisateurs. En vélo, il est permis de remonter gentiment une colonne de véhicules à l'arrêt par la droite. Attention, il faut toutefois s’arrêter derrière les voitures qui tournent à droite.

Règles de base

Sources et plus d’infos

Pro Velo - Pédaler en sécurité
TCS - En toute sécurité à vélo

Quelques doutes?
Inscrivez-vous à un cours Pro Velo : www.pro-velo.ch

Planifier son itinéraire
Pour rejoindre sa destination, il est conseillé de prendre le chemin le plus confortable et sûr. Avez-vous repéré des pistes cyclables ? est-ce une route étroite ? la circulation est-elle dense ?

Pour vous aider à planifier votre route : "La Suisse à vélo" www.suisse-a-velo.ch / Cartes cyclistes, Association Transports et Environnement, www.ate.ch

Skyline